SCM, ERP, CRM

Recently I just changed job to become Supply Chain Analyst from a lousy developer before. I considered this a big jump since it is my wish to learn more about the business process rather than just simply writing codes.

Currently I am learning a lot about supply chain process from end to end which I only know bits and pieces before. It’s interesting also because 7 years back I was still working as CRM analyst, and after that I spent 5 years working as developer for Oracle ERP and now I am learning SCM.

IMHO from a company point a view, CRM is more on how to manage relationship between company and their customers, whether as operational (Customer Service, Sales Force Automation or Call Center) or analytical (BI/Datawarehousing).  Oracle modules that is related to this is : Oracle Support, Oracle Field Service, Depot Repair, Oracle Marketing, Oracle Sales Online, as well Oracle BI. Siebel is also very good in CRM.

 ERP is more towards how the company manage their own resources in terms of financial, human resources, fixed assets , purchasing and sales. Oracle Financials and Human Resource are definitely in this scope. Oracle Purchasing and Order Management I believe is still in the gray area between ERP and SCM.

Supply Chain Management I believe is related with how the company manage their supply and demand, it means more towards relationship with the suppliers, planning on customer demand and suppliers supply to balance on their inventory. Oracle ASCP, Inventory, WMS,MRP, Purchasing is on this.

This is only a simple answer from my side, I am still learning more.. will update again once I learn something new.

2 Responses to “SCM, ERP, CRM”

  1. maryam Says:

    hi
    i need some informatin and article about DSS,please help me.
    thnks alot

  2. dgood76 Says:

    Hi Maryam,

    I would say DSS is one part of BI.
    Among the first site you should check is from wikipedia :

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Decision_support_system

    also :

    http://dssresources.com/
    http://www.pitt.edu/~druzdzel/abstracts/dss.html

    hope that helps,

Leave a comment